TRAF is governed by a Board which oversees its operations. The Board acts as trustee of the Fund and is ultimately responsible for the proper administration of The Teachers' Pensions Act. Additional details regarding the function of the Board are set out in its Terms of Reference.

The Board is comprised of seven members – three nominated by The Manitoba Teachers' Society (MTS) and four from the general public. These representatives are appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council. 

The current members of the Board, and their appointment dates, are set out below. All members shall continue to hold office after the expiry of their term until re-appointment or a successor is appointed.

norm gould web

Acting Chair – Norman (Norm) Gould
Appointed March 8, 2012
Term Expires December 31, 2016

Norm is currently the Vice President of The Manitoba Teachers' Society (MTS). He has been a member of the MTS Provincial Executive since 2009. During his tenure, he has served as the Chair of the MTS Audit Committee, representative to the Funding for School Program Advisory Committee to the Deputy Minister of Education and as a member of the MTS Disability Benefits Plan Investment Committee. Prior to Norm's involvement with MTS, he served as President of the St. James-Assiniboia Teachers' Association for three years and was involved in numerous activities and initiatives at the local level.

Norm earned his Master of Education degree from the University of Manitoba (2005) with a specialization in educational law. He also holds degrees from Brandon University (B.Ed. in 1992) and University of Winnipeg (B.A. in 1989).

madeline mckenzie web

Madeline McKenzie
Appointed January 1, 2012
Term Expires December 31, 2017

Madeline retired in June 2010 after 40 years as a public school educator. She also served her colleagues as president of the St. Vital Teachers' Association and following amalgamation, president of the Louis Riel Teachers' Association. She also co-chaired the Workplace, Safety and Health Committee of the division.

Madeline served on numerous committees of The Manitoba Teachers' Society related to a variety of public education matters, including professional development, certification, administrators and provincial bargaining. She also was the Regional Coordinator of Metro Bargainers for five years.

Madeline received her Bachelor of Education and Special Education Certification from the University of Manitoba and completed a Master of Education in Instructional Design at Arizona State University.

Since retiring, Madeline has been active in several roles including evaluations of an independent living training program and differential response in child welfare. She is also a member of the Board of Vic Wyatt House, Inc.

Glen Anderson 2014 Web

Glen Anderson
Appointed April 30, 2014
Term Expires December 31, 2017

Glen is currently the Staff Officer for Benefit Plans with The Manitoba Teachers' Society where he oversees the various benefit plans that The Manitoba Teachers' Society holds. Formerly, he was a teacher in the River East Transcona School Division, and served as President of the former River East Teachers' Association.

Glen received his Bachelor of Science from the University of Winnipeg and his certificate of Education from the University of Manitoba.

Tammy Hodgins Rector Web

Tammy Hodgins-Rector
Appointed January 1, 2015
Term Expires December 31, 2016

Tammy is the current President of the Red River Valley Teachers' Association and a teacher/counsellor at Sanford Collegiate in the Red River Valley School Division. She has been an active member of her local association since 1998 serving in various capacities including: President, Past President and Collective Bargaining Chairperson.

Tammy is currently a trustee on the Manitoba Teachers' Society Disability Benefits Plan Investment Committee and has served on several provincial committees related to education, finance, collective bargaining and teacher certification.

Tammy received her Bachelor of Education (1996) from the University of Winnipeg and her School Administrator's Certificate in 2004.

Kevin Williams

Kevin Williams
Appointed January 1, 2015
Term Expires December 31, 2016

Kevin is a practicing Barrister, Solicitor and Notary Public and currently is a Managing Partner of Taylor McCaffrey LLP. His practice is dispute resolution oriented.

As well as regularly appearing before and advising administrative tribunals, he has litigated matters in all levels of court in Manitoba as well as the Supreme Court of Canada. 

Prior to entering law, Kevin obtained his Bachelor of Commerce (Hons) with majors in accounting and finance and for a brief period of time, worked with a public accounting firm prior to returning to university to commence his legal studies.

Kevin has been on the Board of Directors of the St. Boniface Hospital & Research Foundation since 2000 and Chairman of the Board since 2012.

Judy Mathieson Cropped

Judy Mathieson
Appointed January 1, 2016
Term Expires December 31, 2017

Judy Mathieson has more than 30 years of business experience including her current role as Principal of Judy Mathieson Ltd. where her primary focus is facilitating strategy through education and leadership development. She previously enjoyed a 23-year career with Scotiabank, achieving the role of Director and Market Lead, Scotia Private Client Group for Manitoba & Northwestern Ontario. She also currently serves as the Executive in Residence for MBA External Projects at the University of Manitoba Asper School of Business.

Ms. Mathieson has served on a number of Boards in various roles including as incoming Chair of the Board of Safety Services Manitoba as well as the Chair of the Audit Committee. Other community leadership roles have included Treasurer of the Winnipeg Chamber of Commerce, Canadian Chair of the Risk Management Association, and President of the Alzheimer’s Society of Manitoba.

Ms. Mathieson is currently a member of the Winnipeg Chamber of Commerce Economic Competitiveness Leadership Council and the Institute of Corporate Directors, Manitoba Chapter.

Judy holds a Masters of Business Administration from Dalhousie University, and is a Chartered Professional Accountant. In 2007, she was conferred the title of Fellow of the Society of Management Accountants of Canada.